Happy Holidays, Giving Thanks

Happy Holidays, Dear Reader!

The holidays are upon us and it’s a great time to reflect on the multitude of blessings we have.

I’m thankful for:

  • Another year of good health
  • My loving wife
  • Three healthy & happy boys (young men, actually)
  • Good friends
  • Relative peace in the world

We’ve made our home in the great Pacific Northwest. The photo you see at the top of this page is from my first-ever back-country backpacking trip to Mt. St. Helens, taken in July, with my cousin, Sander, Josh and Eli. How scary to see the destruction caused by the blast in 1980; but that blast opened a gateway for me and many others to appreciate this incredible natural beauty! The cycle of chaos and creation.

This holiday season, I hope you’ll join me and do something to give back to your community. I just scheduled my plasma donation at the Puget Sound Blood Center, and “invited” my son to give for the first time. Blood banks experience a blood shortage each December and January, since the demand remains constant, but people are too busy to donate.

My local blood bank is trying hard to get plasma donations at the moment. Plasma helps in the treatment of trauma patients, burn victims and others fighting serious illness and injury. In addition to providing this additional life-saving resource, you can give plasma more frequently than whole blood – so everybody wins!

I’ve written before about why I think giving blood is so important, but in this season of giving, please remember to take time to go out of your way and help people in need. It only takes a few minutes and it will make you feel great!

2 thoughts on “Happy Holidays, Giving Thanks

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Daemon, by Daniel Suarez | The Point

  2. Pingback: 2015 Fundraising Appeal – Obliteride | The Point

Leave a Reply

